University of Wisconsin–Madison

Faculty & Staff

Cerebrovascular

Azam Ahmed

MD, FAANS, FACS

Associate Professor of Neurosurgery and Radiology

azam.ahmed@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Robert Dempsey

MD

Manucher J. Javid Professor & Chairman

dempsey@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Functional and Epilepsy

Azam Ahmed

MD, FAANS, FACS

Associate Professor of Neurosurgery and Radiology

azam.ahmed@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Neuro Critical Care

Marin Darsie

MD

Assistant Professor - CHS in Emergency Medicine

medarsie@medicine.wisc.edu

Joshua Medow

MD, MSc, PhD, FAANS, FACS, FNCS, FAHA, FCCM

Tenured Professor

medow@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Erick Tarula

MD

Assistant Professor - CHS in Neurology

tarula@neurology.wisc.edu

Neuroendovascular (NES)

Azam Ahmed

MD, FAANS, FACS

Associate Professor of Neurosurgery and Radiology

azam.ahmed@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Pathology

Shahriar Salamat

MD, PhD

Professor - CHS in Pathology

ssalamat@wisc.edu

Tumor

Azam Ahmed

MD, FAANS, FACS

Associate Professor of Neurosurgery and Radiology

azam.ahmed@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Robert Dempsey

MD

Manucher J. Javid Professor & Chairman

dempsey@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Biomedical Engineering

Kip Ludwig

PhD

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering Adjunct faculty of Neurological Surgery

kaludwig2@wisc.edu

Eric Shusta

PhD

Howard Curler Distinguished Professor

eshusta@wisc.edu

Justin Williams

PhD

Professor of Biomedical Engineering Adjunct faculty of Neurological Surgery

jwilliams@engr.wisc.edu

Research Faculty

Robert Dempsey

MD

Manucher J. Javid Professor & Chairman

dempsey@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Kip Ludwig

PhD

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering Adjunct faculty of Neurological Surgery

kaludwig2@wisc.edu

Joshua Medow

MD, MSc, PhD, FAANS, FACS, FNCS, FAHA, FCCM

Tenured Professor

medow@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Eric Shusta

PhD

Howard Curler Distinguished Professor

eshusta@wisc.edu

Justin Williams

PhD

Professor of Biomedical Engineering Adjunct faculty of Neurological Surgery

jwilliams@engr.wisc.edu

All Faculty

Azam Ahmed

MD, FAANS, FACS

Associate Professor of Neurosurgery and Radiology

azam.ahmed@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Marin Darsie

MD

Assistant Professor - CHS in Emergency Medicine

medarsie@medicine.wisc.edu

Robert Dempsey

MD

Manucher J. Javid Professor & Chairman

dempsey@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Kip Ludwig

PhD

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering Adjunct faculty of Neurological Surgery

kaludwig2@wisc.edu

Joshua Medow

MD, MSc, PhD, FAANS, FACS, FNCS, FAHA, FCCM

Tenured Professor

medow@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Shahriar Salamat

MD, PhD

Professor - CHS in Pathology

ssalamat@wisc.edu

Eric Shusta

PhD

Howard Curler Distinguished Professor

eshusta@wisc.edu

Erick Tarula

MD

Assistant Professor - CHS in Neurology

tarula@neurology.wisc.edu

Justin Williams

PhD

Professor of Biomedical Engineering Adjunct faculty of Neurological Surgery

jwilliams@engr.wisc.edu

Research Staff

Administrative and Support Staff

Tara Anderson

Graduate Medical Education Program Manager

anderson@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-265-0480

Mary Benkaddour

Medical Program Assistant

benkaddour@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-262-7304

Max Brunner

Accountant III

brunner@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-265-5885

Brittany Burroughs

Academic Program Specialist

burroughs@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-890-1988

Joyce Bushar

Medical Program Assistant

bushar@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-263-1410

Anna Chapman

Senior Medical Program Assistant

chapman@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-263-9585

Myhia Chapman

CPC– Medical Coding Specialist

mchapman@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-265-4144

Robert Dempsey

MD

Manucher J. Javid Professor & Chairman

dempsey@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Sara DeTienne

Senior Director of Development

sara.detienne@supportuw.org

608-308-5366

Mary Beth Dunning

Neuro Clerkship Student Services Coordinator

dunning@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-265-9627

Chad Krueger

Senior Engineer IV

krueger@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-265-0458

Aimee Lemrise

Senior Coding Coordinator

lemrise@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-262-5271

Jenna Maybock

Clinical Research Coordinator II

maybock@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-261-1577

Michelle Mcintyre

Medical Program Assistant

mcintyre@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-263-0485

Margaret Oimoen

Clinical Research Coordinator II

oimoen@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-262-6493

Janelle Poehnelt

Administrative Assistant III

poehnelt@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-265-4144

Ardiana Rushiti

CPC– Medical Coding Specialist

rushiti@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-262-8857

Sima Sayyahmelli

Clinical Research Coordinator / Researcher I

sayyahmelli@wisc.edu

608-265-4514

Stephanie Schussler

Executive Assistant I

schuessler@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-265-5885

Danielle Shaw

Medical Program Assistant

shaw@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-263-1411

Caleb Swenson

System Engineer IV

swenson@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-265-0458

Jessica Thorson

CPC– Medical Coding Specialist

JThorson2@uwhealth.org

Niki Virnig

MBA

Chief Administrative Officer
Department Administrator

virnig@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Cassie Whiting

Clinical Sciences Associate Department Administrator

whiting@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-261-1417

Stephanie Wilbrand

PhD

Clinical Research Manager / Research Administrator

wilbrand@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-265-9248

Greg Zalesak

Former Director

zalesak@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-263-0590

All Faculty and Staff

Azam Ahmed

MD, FAANS, FACS

Associate Professor of Neurosurgery and Radiology

azam.ahmed@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Tara Anderson

Graduate Medical Education Program Manager

anderson@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-265-0480

Mary Benkaddour

Medical Program Assistant

benkaddour@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-262-7304

Max Brunner

Accountant III

brunner@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-265-5885

Brittany Burroughs

Academic Program Specialist

burroughs@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-890-1988

Joyce Bushar

Medical Program Assistant

bushar@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-263-1410

Anna Chapman

Senior Medical Program Assistant

chapman@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-263-9585

Myhia Chapman

CPC– Medical Coding Specialist

mchapman@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-265-4144

Marin Darsie

MD

Assistant Professor - CHS in Emergency Medicine

medarsie@medicine.wisc.edu

Robert Dempsey

MD

Manucher J. Javid Professor & Chairman

dempsey@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Sara DeTienne

Senior Director of Development

sara.detienne@supportuw.org

608-308-5366

Mahua Dey

MD

Assistant Professor

dey@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Mary Beth Dunning

Neuro Clerkship Student Services Coordinator

dunning@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-265-9627

Chad Krueger

Senior Engineer IV

krueger@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-265-0458

Aimee Lemrise

Senior Coding Coordinator

lemrise@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-262-5271

Kip Ludwig

PhD

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering Adjunct faculty of Neurological Surgery

kaludwig2@wisc.edu

Jaime Martinez Santos

MD

Cerebrovascular Fellow

Jenna Maybock

Clinical Research Coordinator II

maybock@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-261-1577

Michelle Mcintyre

Medical Program Assistant

mcintyre@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-263-0485

Joshua Medow

MD, MSc, PhD, FAANS, FACS, FNCS, FAHA, FCCM

Tenured Professor

medow@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Margaret Oimoen

Clinical Research Coordinator II

oimoen@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-262-6493

Janelle Poehnelt

Administrative Assistant III

poehnelt@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-265-4144

Ardiana Rushiti

CPC– Medical Coding Specialist

rushiti@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-262-8857

Shahriar Salamat

MD, PhD

Professor - CHS in Pathology

ssalamat@wisc.edu

Sima Sayyahmelli

Clinical Research Coordinator / Researcher I

sayyahmelli@wisc.edu

608-265-4514

Stephanie Schussler

Executive Assistant I

schuessler@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-265-5885

Danielle Shaw

Medical Program Assistant

shaw@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-263-1411

Eric Shusta

PhD

Howard Curler Distinguished Professor

eshusta@wisc.edu

Caleb Swenson

System Engineer IV

swenson@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-265-0458

Erick Tarula

MD

Assistant Professor - CHS in Neurology

tarula@neurology.wisc.edu

Jessica Thorson

CPC– Medical Coding Specialist

JThorson2@uwhealth.org

Niki Virnig

MBA

Chief Administrative Officer
Department Administrator

virnig@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Uma Wesley

PhD

Research Professor
Distinguished Scientist

wesley@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Cassie Whiting

Clinical Sciences Associate Department Administrator

whiting@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-261-1417

Stephanie Wilbrand

PhD

Clinical Research Manager / Research Administrator

wilbrand@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-265-9248

Justin Williams

PhD

Professor of Biomedical Engineering Adjunct faculty of Neurological Surgery

jwilliams@engr.wisc.edu

Greg Zalesak

Former Director

zalesak@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

608-263-0590